What is the full form of IPL ?

IPL Full Form: Indian Premier League

Spread the love

IPL full form or meaning is Indian Premier League.

IPL is a popular acronym that stands for the Indian Premier League. Indian premier league is a Twenty-20 Cricket tournament.

Indian Premier League is arranged and organized by the Board of Control of Cricket in India also known as BCCI.

BCCI introduced in 2008. Indian premier league is organized every year in India where different cricket teams play Twenty-20 cricket matches for a semi finale and it ends with the finale match and winning team.

Teams in IPL are made through auctioning of cricketers. The first season of IPL was organized on 18th April 2008. THE first IPL season was won by Rajasthan Royals.

IPL full form
IPL full form

About IPL

Indian premier league is not only played by Indian Cricketers but it allows overseas cricket players to take a part in the tournament. The teams in IPL represent different states of India that include both Indian and Overseas players.

All the teams in IPL play against each other at least twice so each team plays fourteen matches before they qualify for the semi-final. On every match, teams get points and run rates that decide four teams for the semi finale of IPL.

IPL is a professional Twenty-20 cricket league that is organized every year between March to May.  Mainly, eight teams, every year plays this IPL tournament that represents eight different states of India.

History of IPL

The Indian Premier League was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India or BCCI in 2007 which also administrates IPL every year.

Indian premier league was designed and founded to attract an entirely new generation of sports fans in the ground around the country. BCCI announced the launch of a franchise-based Twenty-0 cricket tournament and competition which they named Indian Premier League on 13th September 2007.

IPL started in April 2008 as a high profile ceremony in New Delhi. Vice president of BCCI Lalit Modi is considered to be the mastermind behind IPL who designed the details of the IPL tournament as well as the format and prize money, squad composition rules and franchise revenue system etc.

It was also decided that IPL will be run by a seven-man governing council that include former Indian players and BCCI officials.

Indian premier league was similar to the idea of other premier leagues such as of England and the NBA in the United States.

On 14th June 2015, it was announced that the inaugural season champion team Rajasthan Royals and two-time winner champion team Chennai Super Kings will be suspended for two next seasons of IPL due to their role in a match-fixing and betting scandal.

Hence on 8th December 2015 in an auction, it was revealed that Pune and Rajkot would replace Chennai super kings and Rajasthan Royals for these two seasons. These two new teams were Rising Pune Supergiant and the Gujarat Lions.

Rules of IPL

Here are a few important rules for IPL team composition –

  • For each IPL team, a maximum of four overseas players can be in the playing eleven squads.
  • There is no local quota for local Indian players in a team.
  • Each team of IPL has to have at least 16 players
  • Cricket players who have played first-class or List A cricket as well as Under -19 players can play in the IPL.
  • There is no time limit in which teams must complete their inning because the IPL games use television timeouts.

Prize for IPL

When four teams qualify IPL semi finale they play for the finale.

One team at the end wins the Indian Premier League of that year and gets the trophy with prize money.

It is mandatory for prize money winner teams to distribute half of the prize money among players.

the winner of IPL gets around 200 million INR as prize money.

The first and second runner up team gets nearly INR 125 million and 80 million respectively.


 What are the IPL teams?

 IPL teams can change each year but till now these teams have played Indian premier league –

  1. Rajasthan Royals
  2. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
  3. Kolkata Knight Riders
  4. Mumbai Indians (MI)
  5. Deccan Chargers
  6. Sunrisers Hyderabad
  7. Rising Pune
  8. Royal challenger Bengaluru
  9. Delhi Capitals
  10. Kings XI Punjab


What are the winning teams of IPL?

 These are winning teams of IPL till 2020 –

2008Rajasthan Royals
2009Deccan Chargers
2010Chennai Super Kings
2011Chennai Super Kings
2012Kolkata Knight Riders
2013Mumbai Indians
2014Kolkata Knight Riders
2015Mumbai Indians
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017Mumbai Indians
2018Chennai Super Kings
2019Mumbai Indians
2020Mumbai Indians

Some interesting facts about IPL-

  • The record of taking the most hat-trick in IPL is in the name of Indian bowler Amit Mishra, who has taken hat-trick three times.
  • The record of fastest and century is in the name of Indian batsman KL Rahul, who scored 50 runs in 14 balls.
    The record of the fastest century is in the name of Chris Gayle, who scored a century in 30 balls.
  • From the IPL, how much BCCI earns, you can guess from this that TV rights were sold by BCCI in 2018 for more than 16 thousand crores rupees.
  • Bengaluru has the record of scoring the most runs in an IPL match and has scored 265 runs in 20 overs.

Some other famous full forms of IPL-

IPL- Internet Public Library- in Academics and Science

IPL- Intellectual Property Law- in Governmental

IPL- Interested Parties List- in law and order

IPL- Initial Primary Loader- in computing

Similar full forms

NBA full form

ISL full form

One thought on “IPL”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our newsletter to get latest updates and news

We keep your data private and share your data only with third parties that make this service possible. See our Privacy Policy for more information.

DMCA.com Protection Status